The opposition Nepali Congress has announced a series of protests against the KP Sharma-led government’s “authoritarian” rule.

A meeting of senior NC leaders led by Vice-president Bimalendra Nidhi held at the party’s central office in Sanepa on Tuesday morning announced holding protest rallies across the country starting July 19.
Objecting to the government’s “totalitarian” stance, NC lawmakers have hit back by disrupting House proceedings for the past few days. They have increased pressure on the government to accede to the just demands of social activist and reformer Dr Govinda KC. He has been on an indefinite hunger strike since June 30 in Jumla, pressing for reforms in the country’s medical education.
The NC backs Dr KC’s demand that the government table the National Medical Education Bill in Parliament at the earliest retaining the provisions of the health education ordinance that was in force until July 4.

The government’s failure to resolve the issue and its unilateral decisions in other areas compel the NC to launch street protests, senior leaders say. The party will disrupt federal parliament and provincial assembly proceedings in all the seven provinces on July 19.

A statement issued by NC General Secretary Shashank Koirala said, “The federal and provincial governments’ functioning violates the letter and spirit of the constitution and the rule of law.”

The ruling party has appointed the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker from the same party. This decision breaches the constitution that stipulates representatives from two different parties should assume these positions, the NC says.

NC leaders denounced the Oli government’s decision to revoke all appointments made by the government led by Sher Bahadur Deuba.

Agitation plan

  •  Protest by NC youth wing Tarun Dal in the Capital on July 21. NC-aligned Professors’ Association and Nepal Doctors’ Association to demonstrate the same day.
  •  An event discussing the government’s activities on Sunday, the BP Day. NC founder Bishweshwar Prasad Koirala was Nepal’s first elected prime minister
  •  Demonstrations in Bhaktapur, Lalitpur and Kathmandu on July 24
  •  Rallies in all the district headquarters on July 31