The Embassy of India and the Central Level Project Implementation Unit
(CLPIU) of the Ministry of Education, Nepal signed 7 Memorandum of
Understandings (MoUs) for re-building 56 higher secondary schools located in
Gorkha, Nuwakot, Dhading, Dolakha, Kavrepalanchowk, Ramechhap and
Sindhupalchok districts of Nepal. These schools will be re-built as part of
Government of India’s post-earthquake reconstruction in Nepal with a grant of
NRs. 2.95 billion.

2. These schools will be re-built as per Government of Nepal’s norms for
earthquake-resilient reconstruction. The school infrastructure will consist of
academic blocks, classrooms along with furniture and separate sanitation
facilities for boys and girls. The Central Building Research Institute (CBRI),
Roorkee, a premier institute in India in the field earthquake-resilient
reconstruction, will be providing technical hand-holding for re-building these

3. Government of India remains committed to continue collaborating with
Government of Nepal and its agencies for socio-economic development of Nepal,
including post-earthquake reconstruction projects in Nepal.