Kathmandu: Khum Subedi from the democratic panel and Sarita Lama from the communist panel have been elected to the post of chairman and General Secretary of Trekking Agencies Association of Nepal (TAAN) respectively.

Similarly, members from both democratic and communists panels have been elected to lead the TAAN central committee from the general elections held on Friday in Kathmandu.

In the election of TAAN’s 41st Annual General Assembly, Subedi defeated another candidate Anjan Kumar Thapa by 83 votes. Subedi got 521 votes while his rival Thapa got 438 votes.

Similarly, candidate for General Secretary Sarita Lama from AnjanThapa’s panel defeated Karma Sherpa by 13 votes. From the Subedi group, Naveen Trital has been elected as senior vice-president, Cholendra Bahadur Karki as the first vice-president, Bharat Sapkota as the second vice-president and Damodar Dhakal from Thapa panel elected as secretary.

Similarly, Ritu Gamdan as the Treasurer and Surya Kumar Shrestha as the vice Treasurer, has been elected from the Subedi panel.

Ngimadiki Sherpa of the Thapa panel was elected as a female member. Likewise, Thakur Sapkota, Prem Bahadur Lama, Mingmatenzing Sherpa and Ram Bahadur Gurung of Thapa group were elected as members of the working committee. Sanam Sherpa, Kancha Sherpa, Simbar Ghale and Sonam Gyalgen Sherpa are elected as members from the Subedi panel.